Texas House, Senate Honor McDonald Observatory for 75 Years of Excellence

23 April 2013

AUSTIN — Today, the Texas House of Representatives and Senate will honor The University of Texas at Austin’s McDonald Observatory for 75 years of discovery. The observatory’s 75th anniversary is coming up in May 2014.

 A proclamation sponsored by State Representative Poncho Nevárez (District 74, which includes Jeff Davis and surrounding counties in west Texas) will be read in the House Chamber at approximately 10 a.m.

 At approximately 11 a.m., a resolution sponsored by State Senator José Rodríguez of El Paso will be read in the Senate Chamber.

 Representatives from the university will be on hand in both chambers to receive the proclamation and resolution. They include Dr. Linda Hicke (Dean of the College Natural Sciences), Dr. David L. Lambert (Director of McDonald Observatory), Ms. Sandra Preston (Assistant Director of McDonald Observatory for Education and Outreach), and Dr. Gary Hill (McDonald Observatory Chief Astronomer). Additionally, Mr. Randolph Henry, Chair of the McDonald Observatory Board of Visitors, will attend.

 The observatory plans a full year of activities around the state to celebrate the anniversary. The events will run from September 1, 2013 through August 31, 2014. Plans include a speakers series in multiple cities, an Open House at the observatory, a dedicated website, and more.

 — END —